Pin It

Motorcycle accident attorney in RI

Motorcycles are a popular mode of transportation all over the United States, including Rhode Island. While motorcycles are popular, riders can be seriously injured when involved in an accident. The following is an overview of drunk motorcycle accidents in Rhode Island and the penalties drivers charged with driving under the influence of alcohol may face.

RI personal injuryThe Number Of Motorcycles In Rhode Island

The number of motorcycles registered in Rhode Island have risen over the years. In 2007, there were 29,144 registered motorcycles in Rhode Island. By the end of 2014, there were 32,216 motorcycles on record.

Alcohol Related Motorcycle Fatalities

The number of alcohol related fatalities among motorcyclists in Rhode Island were:

  • 27 In 2010
  • 26 In 2011
  • 28 In 2012
  • 24 In 2013
  • 22 In 2014

All of these fatal accidents occurred while the motorcyclist or another vehicle involved had a blood alcohol content of over 0.08 percent or more.

Rhode Island DUI Laws

The state of Rhode Island is known for its harsh stance on driving under the influence of alcohol. Drivers are considered too intoxicated to drive a motorcycle or vehicle if their blood alcohol level is over 0.08 percent or more. Those who have not yet reached the legal drinking age of 21 are considered intoxicated at 0.02 percent. Commercial drivers license holders are charged with driving under the influence when they have a blood alcohol content of 0.04 percent or more.

Searches related to motorcycle accident rhode island

  • motorcycle accident in ri yesterday
  • motorcycle accident foster ri
  • motorcycle accident johnston ri
  • motorcycle accident warwick ri
  • warwick car accident yesterday
  • fatal car accident warwick ri
  • warwick motorcycle accident
  • car accident in warwick ri today

Implied Consent Law

Drivers give their consent to participate in field sobriety tests just by having a drivers license in Rhode Island. If their blood alcohol level is over the legal limit, they are charged with DUI. Drivers can refuse to take the field sobriety test, but this most often results in the automatic suspension of their drivers license for a certain amount of time as determined by the court.

Driving Under The Influence Penalties In Rhode Island

The penalties for driving under the influence may vary slightly, depending on the circumstances surrounding the case. However, the penalties are typically:

  • Suspension Of Drivers License
  • Highway Safety Assessment $500.00
  • Community Service Hours As Determined By The Court
  • Jail Time

Alcohol is responsible for many accidents, in passenger vehicles and on motorcycles. In addition to jail time and fines, many people are seriously injured or die each year due to alcohol related accidents. If you have been charged with DUI in Rhode Island, it may benefit you to speak with a criminal defense attorney for advice.


Be Sociable, Share!